Font Size

Vital Statistics

New Jersey Department of Health / Vital Statistics / Contact Info

Entering Into a Marriage or Civil Union in New Jersey

The cost of a Marriage License is $28.00 (exact cash or check only) payable when you apply for the license.

Please call ahead for an appointment - 609-268-2377 ext. 304 or 301

When applying for a license, the following information is needed:

  • Proof of identity by presenting your driver’s license, passport or state/federal I.D.
  • Proof of residency by one applicant if a NJ resident
  • Social Security number*
  • A witness, 18 years of age or older
  • The $28 application fee (exact cash or check only)
* Your social security number is required by law for US citizens and will be kept confidential.

Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.

PLEASE NOTE: Do not sign the Oath or Affirmation section of the marriage application form before going to the Local Registrar. You must sign the application, under oath, in the presence of the issuing authority.

Please note there is a 72-hour waiting period from the time the application is signed until the license can be issued. 

How to Obtain a Certified Copy: The Registrar's Office can provide a certified copy with a raised seal of events which occur within the Township with required documentation and fees. Please call for appointment - 609-268-2377 ext. 304 or 301.

Current Fees: $15.00 for the first copy and $5.00 each for each additional copy ($1.50 postage/handling if requesting copies by mail) - call 609-268-2377 ext. 304 or 301 for details.